Arnos Vale, St. Vincent – May 1, 2017 – Trinidad and Tobago are champions again. Trinidad and Tobago retained the Cricket West Indies Regional Women’s Super 50 Cricket tournament on Sunday April 30th, at the Arnos Vale Sports Complex in St. Vincent and the Grenadines, when they recorded a 21 runs win over the Barbados, in a keenly contested Finals.

Barbados, the only unbeaten team going into Sunday’s Finals, after getting the better of the defending champions in one of the opening preliminary games on April 20th, won the toss and inserted Trinidad and Tobago to take first knock. The Barbadian must have been considering whether their decision was the best, as Trinidad and Tobago progressed nicely to 93 for 1 in the 21st over.

The introduction of Hayley Matthews and Keila Elliot however slowed down the progress of the ladies from the land of soca, and in so doing, created wicket taking opportunities. The Trinidadian went from 93 for 1 in the 21st over to be dismissed for 164 in the 46th over, losing their last nine wickets for 71 runs in 25 overs. Felicia Walters led the way with a patient half century, scoring 53 from 140 balls faced. Reniece Boyce 29 and Rachael Vincent 20, also made very valuable contributions. Keila Elliot bagged 4 for 47 while Deandra Dottin picked up 3 for 31 and  Hayley Matthews took 2 for 17 from 10 overs.

The ladies from the land of the flying fish fell into early trouble, as they lost their first two wickets with the score only on 9. Kyshona Knight and Deandra Dottin, however, restored hope in the Barbadian camp with a 61 runs 3rd wicket partnership. When Dottin was bowled by Karishma Ramharack with the score on 70, after which Kyshona Knight departed 24 runs later, the task became even more difficult for the challengers, as Barbados lost six wickets for 49 runs, and were dismissed for 143 after 45.5 overs. Deandra Dottin and Kyshona Knight both scored 32 respectively, while Charlene Taitt 24 and Shamilia Connell 20 also got amongst the runs. Player of the Finals, Felicia Walters, followed up her 53 with the bat, to take 3 for 25 in 10 overs. She was well supported by Karishma Ramharack 2 for 10 from 8.5 overs, Shenelle Lord 2 for 27 from 10 overs and Anisa Mohammed 2 for 36 in 9 overs.

Hayley Matthews of Barbados was named player of the tournament. Matthews scored the most runs, 158, and was joint top wicket-taker with Afy Fletcher of the Windward Islands, with 15 wickets each.

Champions Trinidad and Tobago were followed by Barbados in second place and the Windward Islands who placed third.

Media Release

This is an official media release of the St. Vincent & the Grenadines Cricket Association Inc.