Arnos Vale, St. Vincent – A preliminary squad has been selected for the training of the national senior men’s team. This is with the view of having a final team ready for the Windward Islands senior men’s tournament in Grenada from April 17 – 25, 2020.

The 30 man squad has the surprised inclusion of former captain Lindon James, who at age 35 has made himself available for national duties after a self-imposed break, which many considered to be retirement. James was the Local Player of the Year in 2019, after dominating all the local tournaments. His form has continued in the ongoing NLA Premier Division.

Also featured in the squad is Rodrigo Thomas, a former U19 cricketer for St. Vincent and the Grenadines. A Canadian citizen, Thomas recently represented Canada in the regional Super 50 competition, where he showed his explosive batting ability. Thomas has also played in the Global T20 league in Canada, which features some world-class players.

The rest of the squad is boosted by some senior players, including West Indies players Sunil Ambris, Kesrick Williams, and Obed McCoy. Windward Islands players Desron Maloney, Keron Cottoy, Ray Jordan, Dillon Douglas, and Kenneth Dember are also in the strong lineup.

Chairman of Selectors, Roland Wilkinson said the team is being selected with the main goal of winning the tournament, hence the inclusion of Lindon James, who brings a wealth of experience and has been in tremendous form.

In keeping with the development component of the selection policy, the panel also identified five Under 19 players to join the senior team training, namely: Solomon Bascombe, Ojay Matthews, Kemron Strough, Jahiel Walters, and Luke Wilson.

Deighton Butler is the head coach of the team, to be assisted by Cleton Burnett. SVG came 2nd in the tournament last year.

The association recently announced the increase of fitness standard for selection to the national team, which is now 35 on the yo-yo test.

Full squad: Sunil Ambris, Romario Bibby, Atticus Browne, Shaquille Browne, Ray Charles, Keron Cottoy, Kenneth Dember, Dillon Douglas, Deron Greaves, Rasheed Fredericks, Tilron Harry, Jeremy Haywood, Shamon Hooper, Asif Hooper, Lindon James, Delorn Johnson, Ray Jordan, Desron Maloney, Darius Martin, Obed McCoy, Romano Pierre, Gidron Pope, Seon Sween, Andrew Thomas, Jeremy Layne, Rodrigo Thomas, Rickford Walker, Kesrick Williams, Rayon Williams, Geron Wyllie.

Under 19 players:  Solomon Bascombe, Ojay Matthews, Kemron Strough, Jahiel Walters, and Luke Wilson.

Media Release

This is an official media release of the St. Vincent & the Grenadines Cricket Association Inc.