Arnos Vale, St. Vincent – May 14, 2017 – The senior selection panel, chaired by Roland Wilkinson, and comprised of Lance John, Romel Currency, Bill Edwards, and Nixon Mclean, has selected the St. Vincent and the Grenadines team that will compete in the Windward Islands tournament 2017.

Windward Islands captain, Sunil Ambris will lead the team for the second year in the tournament that will be played in Dominica from May 20th to 26th. The experience left arm fast bowler and West Indies A team player, Delorn Johnson has been given the added responsibility of vice-captain.

The team includes experienced batsman Donwell Hector, who is one of the most prolific runs scorers in Windward Islands tournament. Miles Bascombe who has been in tremendous form this year is also in the line-up. Bascombe was the only player to score a century in the 2 trial matches last week.

There are 4 debutants in the national side, two batsmen in aggressive right-handed Rickford Walker, and former SVG under 19 captain, left-hander Romano Pierre. The other 2 debutants are young speedster Ray Jordan, who represented West Indies Under 19 in the 2015 World Cup, and wicket-keeper batsman Seon Sween, also a former national under 19 captain.

The rest of team include fast bowlers Shaquille Browne and Obed McCoy, two very promising young players. Also, the team boasts West Indies Under 19 champion, the exciting Gidron Pope who would be featuring for Talawahs in the 2017 edition of Caribbean Premier League (CPL). Wayne Harper, the classy right-hander has also found favor with the selections after a few years absence. The two main spinners in the team are the talented Kenneth Dember, who captains Police 2 and left arm spinner, enthusiast, Asif Hooper, who also captains his club Team Rivals.

As a cover for the above players, 3 reserves were named: fast bowler Roneil Jeffery, batsman Desron Maloney, and off-spinner Othneil Lewis.

The team is coached by former West Indies pacer, Nixon Mclean. His manager would be former national cricketer, Elvis ‘Bagga’ Browne.

The team departs for Dominica on May 19, 2017. St. Lucia is the defending champion in the current 2-day format.

Full team:

1.Sunil Ambris (Captain) – Guardian General Saints
2.Delorn Johnson (V.Captain) – Flow Radcliffe
3.Miles Bascombe – Victors 1
4.Shaquille Browne – Victors 1
5.Kenneth Dember – Police 2
6.Wayne Harper – Flow Radcliffe
7.Donwell Hector – Victors 1
8.Asif Hooper – Team Rivals
9.Ray Jordan – Victors 1
10.Obed McCoy – Team Rivals
11.Romano Pierre – Flow Radcliffe
12.Gidron Pope – Flow Radcliffe
13.Seon Sween – Guardian General Saints
14.Rickford Walker – Guardian General Saints

15.Roneil Jeffery – Team Rivals
16.Othniel Lewis – Flow Radcliffe
17.Desron Maloney – Police 2

Media Release

This is an official media release of the St. Vincent & the Grenadines Cricket Association Inc.