Arnos Vale, St. Vincent – February 12, 2017 – The current 50 overs Sunday League champions Smashers, and new comers Providence Electronic Solutions North Leeward, joined four seeded team; Flow Radcliffe, Team Rivals, Guardian General Saints and Victors One, in the Super Six round of the 2017 National Lotteries Authority Neil Williams 20/20 Cricket competition, when that round got on the way on Sunday 12th February.

Smashers secured their spot, finishing second to Team Rivals, after Police Two went under to the group winners by 3 runs on Saturday 11th February, in one of the remaining preliminary round matches. However, Smashers lost to Team Rivals in one of the three Super Six games, played on Sunday 12th February, at Arnos Vale Two. Team Rivals batting first hit 189 for 4 in their allotted 18 overs, complements yet another hundred, an even 100 not out by Hyron Shallow, decorated with  6 sixes and 12 fours. Casmond Walters also contributed 37. In reply, Smashers fell short by 39 runs, as they ended on 150 for 7 when the eighteenth over ended. Kirton Lavia 54 and Raymano Rouse 26 were there principal scorers. Orlanzo Jackson picked up 4 for 16 for Team Rivals.

Providence Electronic Solutions North Leeward suffered a similar fate in their first Super Six encounter when they lost by six wickets to Victors One at the Arnos Vale Playing Field on Sunday. North Leeward were dismissed for 98 in 15.5 overs, with Christopher Howe getting 24. Norlan Williams and Alston Bob both had figures of 3 for 21, while Shaquille Browne took 2 for 16. Victors One then took 10 overs to get to 99 and lost four wickets in the process. Christroy John 36 and Miles Bascombe 26, led the way with the bat. Christopher Howe ended a good alround performance, bagging 4 for 23 bowling for Providence Electronic Solutions North Leeward.

The third Super Six game played on Sunday 12th,  ended in a defeat for defending champions Flow Radcliffe at the hands of Guardian General Saints by 24 runs at Sion Hill. Saints rallied to score 159 for 9 in their allotment of 20 overs.  Jerron John 47 and Rickford Walker 37 led the batting. Andy Harper, Lindon James and Delorn Johnson all took two wickets each for 21, 27 and 36 runs respectively. In reply, Flow Radcliffe were restricted to 135 for 8 when their overs ran out. Gidron Pope 54 and Lindon James 31 were their main scorers. Romel Currency 3 for 8, Kenroy Peters 2 for 19 and Kimali Williams 2 for 21 shared the wickets for Guardian General Saints.

In the preliminary games that were played on the weekend, defending champions Flow Radcliffe humbled Combined Youths by 71 runs at the Arnos Vale playing field. The 2016 champions scored 173 for 7 in 20 overs, behind another hundred from Gidron Pope, who was left unbeaten on 108, that included six towering sixes and ten fours. Geron Wyllie picked up 3 for 26 for Combined Youths who were dismissed for 102 in 18 overs. Oneil Endeavour struck 47. Dyke Cato 4 for 12 and Andy Harper 3 for 28 got amongst the wickets for Flow Radcliffe.

Victors One also won their last preliminary game beating Strike Eagles by 78 runs. Victors One taking first knock totaled 175 for 5 in their 20 overs. Atticus Browne hit 59 while Miles Bascombe added 57. Darren John took 2 for 37 for Strike Eagles, who fell short in their chase, being dismissed for 97 in 19.4 overs. Domarley Roberts top scored with 22. Norlan Williams took 3 for 7 bowling for the Victors One team.

The last preliminary game on Saturday saw Team Rivals squeezing past Police Two by 3 runs. Team Rivals stumbled up to 130 all out in 20 overs mainly due to the efforts of Casmond Walters 47 and Hyron Shallow 39. Sylvan Spencer’s 2 for 20 were the best figures for the Police Two team. Police Two were however strangled in their reply, ending on 127 for 6 when their overs ended. Parnel Browne 35 and Danson Andrews 33 batted well for the lawmen. Orlanzo Jackson 2 for 21 was Team Rivals’ best bowler.

The six teams in the Super Six round will play each other on a round robin basis, after which the two top teams on points will play a Final.

The National Women’s 40 overs competition also continued on Saturday 11th February, with an easy 10 wickets win for Garifuna Stars over Radcliffe Girls. Radcliffe Girls were shot out for 61 in 18.3 overs. Jessica Lavia 3 for 11, Juliana Nero 2 for 12 and Lyris Nero 2 for 18 destroyed the Radcliffe Girls innings. In reply Juliana Nero 29 not out and Nyasha Williams 18 not out saw Garifuna Stars to victory in just 5.2 overs.

Roxell John
SVG Cricket Association Inc.

Written by Kishore Shallow

President of the SVGCA Inc. since 2014. Professionally, an IT / Business Consultant, with extensive experience in Information Systems. Academic background includes MBA (Specialization in Finance), BSc (Hons) Applied Business Computing, and currently a DBA Candidate (with focus on Financial Management). Learn more about Kishore on LinkedIn.